31/8/2016

Maybe I am stuck thinking about something, or maybe I am just homesick for Montana.

Ibistree
The Ibis Tree

I recall one blustery, first-fall afternoon with sharp air and marble skies in Missoula, Montana.  That time of year when crisp leaves start to float down in singles.  The ones that you have no doubt about hearing the most satisfying crunch of autumn under your boots. The time of year when a sweater is as welcomed as it is necessary, and not yet an annoying burden.  On this grey afternoon, I saw a squirrel running madly in circles, around a pine tree on the University of Montana’s campus.  The squirrel didn’t stop, slow down, or attempt anything else but it’s circles.  I sat down on a chilled but not frozen, brick step and I thought,

That squirrel is all action and no thought.

A later evening, on another day, I went over to a friends house for dinner.  One of my very good friends, who I can talk with about most things.  We would drive each other to epic heights of meaningless empowerment.  Meaningless because we were ‘still studying,’ and ‘not quite ready to make shit happen.’  We would passionately analyze the wretched state of American inequality, wars of mass destruction and political dreams/nightmares.  Yet, we would only end up with full stomachs, and BACs perfectly allowing me to drive home; and I’d drive thinking,

We’re just all thought and no action.

And then I thought,

I’m no better than a damn squirrel.

Now, in Jane Furse, on those late evenings after a busy work day when the sun is just setting I pass that big tree on the walk home.  I am not sure what type of tree it is.  But every night at the same time of sun, about 53 Hadeda Ibis’ come to roost in it.  They sleep in the top branches and look like dark, oblong beads strung on the network of twigs in the canopy.  They know this is their home, and they come back every night.  I sat on a dusty water tank one night to watch them soar and call each other and I thought,

They are all action and thought. What a perfect mix…

And then I thought,

Ducks do this too..  And we shoot those things in Montana.

-Riley

Leave a comment